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NFHS Volleyball Weekly Rule Interpretations  

Illegal Libero Replacement 

The penalty administration for the first referee (R1) and second referee (R2) when the libero 
exchanges after the whistle for serve was adjusted to make it more consistent with other 
unnecessary delay penalties. It is important to remember that either the receiving or serving 
team can commit this fault. Both the R1 and R2 must be ready to make the call. 

Officials Mechanics – Unnecessary Delay (Officials Manual 5.7.1) 

Unnecessary Delay – Administrative Cards: The first referee shall 
administer the administrative cards for unnecessary delay and assess 
penalties when required. The mechanics for signaling are as follows:  

First Referee initiates call (Signal 20): When the R1 initiates the 
unnecessary delay call for a late libero replacement (serving team), the 
R1 whistles and raises the hand on the side of the offending team 
beside head, palm facing in and holds the appropriate card on the wrist 
of the raised hand. The second referee does not repeat the procedure.  

Second Referee initiates call: When the R2 initiates the 
unnecessary delay call for a late libero replacement 
(receiving team), the R2 (already on the receiving/offending team side of the net) 
whistles and holds up the appropriate card in the hand closest to the non-
offending team, placed against the back of the wrist of the other hand, which is 
held at head height, palm facing in on the side of the offending team. The first 
referee administers the card in the same manner.  

 

 

 



CORRECTION: CASE BOOK PART I – Interpretations on the 2025-26 Rules Changes, pg. 5  

SITUATION 1: The R2 identifies an illegal libero replacement on Team A: (a) prior to Team A’s 
contact for serve; (b) after Team A’s contact for serve. RULING: (a) unnecessary delay; (b) illegal 
alignment. COMMENT: An illegal libero replacement identified before contact for serve is an 
unnecessary delay (administrative yellow card for the first offense or administrative red card for 
subsequent offense in that set), which is administered immediately. If the R1 has already 
authorized the serve, the R1 will whistle to prevent the serve, administer and issue a replay 
after administering the unnecessary delay, correct the alignment and resume play with the 
same server. If the illegal libero replacement is not identified until after contact for serve the 
result is Illegal alignment (loss of rally/point) for Team A. (10-4 PENALTIES 1) 

Rationale: There is no contact for serve, only the authorization of service when the violation 
occurs, so play resumes with a re- authorization of service – not a replay or re-serve.  

 

 



SITUATION 2: Team A’s libero No. 3 replaces No. 19 in the center back position. Team A wins the 
rally. Team A’s No. 19 replaces libero No. 3 in the back row and libero No. 3 moves to the serving 
position, without leaving the court, replacing No. 6 who was the right front and would be the 
next server. This will be Libero No. 3’s second serving position. The referee whistles before 
contact for serve, issues an unnecessary delay, and corrects the illegal replacement. RULING: 
Correct procedure. COMMENT: Although the libero is allowed to replace any back row player, 
the referees realize this will be an illegal replacement as the libero can only serve in one 
position. If identified prior to the serve, the referees may correct the illegal replacement and 
issue the unnecessary delay. If not noticed until after the service contact, the result is illegal 
alignment. (10-4 PENALTIES 1) 

SITUATION 3: No. 12 for Team A is serving, and Team A loses the rally. No. 12 stays in the right 
back position on the receiving team when the R1 whistles and signals for serve by Team B. 
Before contact for serve, the libero for Team A runs; (a) onto the court to replace No. 12 in the 
right back position; (b) toward the court but stops and returns to the bench. RULING: (a) 
Unnecessary delay; (b) no penalty. COMMENT: In (a), the second referee will initiate the 
unnecessary delay call since the violation occurs on the receiving team. The first referee will 
repeat the signal. In (b), the libero and No. 12 did not complete an illegal libero exchange since 
the libero never entered the court.  

 

 

 

 

 


